madermouse's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

I went on a quest this weekend. My goal was to find some used exercise tapes - as I�ve said before I�m bored to death of the ones I have. I would love to order some new Leslie tapes, but its like shelling out $40-50 bucks a pop....and I don�t have that money right now. Anyway, my first stop was Goodwill, of course. After searching through piles of crap, I came across an aerobic step video by Kathy Smith. This was followed by the only other tape I found, which was a Nike �Dance Step� video. I thought, �What the hell, if I find a step, I�ll try it.� So I tucked the videos under my arm and headed for the sports section - if you can call it that. Its more like really sad, overused piles of mismatched junk. I dug through weight belts, helmets, kneepads, in-line skates galore (there were like 20 pairs of in-line skates!!), baseball gloves battered and torn, tennis rackets with patched net, and there - like a beacon - was my step. It was a tri-colored, 3-piece step with skid resistance on the top & bottom. The price? $9.99.. It was mine! I spent $12 bucks total including the tapes. Later that day, at another Goodwill store, I found set of hand weights for $3 too.

Okay, so when I got them home, the step totally smelled like wet dog...blech! But it wasn�t anything a little bleach & some scrubbing couldn�t fix. You should�ve saw my cat, circling the step, sniffing the step. I was just waiting for him to back up to it and start spraying. He�s never sprayed in the house, but he had a funny look in his eye. Luckily I snatched the step and took it outside for a good washing before he could get any ideas.

You know, it made me think about how much exercise equipment people give away to Goodwill. I went in 2 Goodwill stores, and one 2nd-hand store on Saturday. I was amazed at the ankle weights, hand weights, weight belts, stairmasters, ab-crunchers, and exercise bikes I came across. It made me think about the owners. What happened to them? Were they just in an exercise �phase� that they grew out of? A couple of thoughts crossed my mind. One - did the previous owner get rid of the step because they fell and almost broke their neck on it? I shudder at the idea. I hope not. Two - am I just in an exercise �phase� that I�ll grow out of? Again, I shudder and hope not. But it happens to the best of them - look at Jane Fonda!! In an interview, when asked if she had any plans to continue teaching aerobics she said something like, �That was my past. I�m not interested in that anymore.� Jane Fonda was like an exercise guru!! Will I always be interested?

Okay, okay, so I know you are just dying to know how my weigh in was today. Check it out here.

Then e-mail me here - and share in my delight! I was in total disbelief today at the doc�s office. I even stepped off & on like 3 times just to make sure it wasn�t a fluke! There it was, the number 299.8. I had made it just by the hair of my chinny-chin-chin. I was in the 200's!!!

Hot tears flooded my eyes as I stood there, totally pleased and relieved. I was pleased that I had made it to my first really BIG goal, and proud for doing the work it took to accomplish that goal. I felt relieved that the 300's were finally gone forever, that I�m more than a 1/3rd of the way to my final goal. I put on my shoes, and the nice nurse (I feel ashamed I can�t remember her name here - she�s told me a hundred times) that has been so encouraging says, �Hey - you are smiling today!� I explained I�d made it to the 200's and I was so happy. Then I literally ran to her with open arms, and hugged her. She hugged back....not that she had much of a choice since I practically forced myself on her. But she flashed a huge smile, and showered me with congratulations. She�s been so wonderful.

Driving home from the doc�s office, I prayed my hubby was up and awake so I could tell him. At home, I tiptoed into my bedroom, where my hubby slept soundly. I kneeled and softly spoke to him, �I love you, honey.� He rustled a bit, then fell back asleep. I rubbed his arm lightly, hoping this would awaken him... Well dammit - I had some good news and I wanted to share it with the man I love!!! (I�m selfish, I know. Celebrate now - sleep later, I thought.) I cooed some more, raising the volume of my voice a bit until he began to stir. At the first sign of true consciousness, I blurted out �I made it honey - I�m at 299!�. He surprised me when his eyes opened wide and he grabbed me with both arms & pulled me onto the bed. He was rocking me and kissing me all over my face and telling me how proud he was of me. �You are amazing, mouse. Totally amazing!� he repeated over and over. It was a singular, beautiful moment that I�ll never forget as long as I live.

299.8lbs I barely made it. Now its time to focus on 275lbs, my next big goal. At least for today, it feels real to me...like I�ll actually make it.

12:28 p.m. - July 9th, 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: