madermouse's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

6/17/02

This weekend has been a blur of ups and downs. I will start with the downs to get them over with.

The down side is that after a full week of 1200-1500 calorie days (with the exception of Sunday) and exercising faithfully, I have not only NOT lost weight, but I�m up half a pound since last week! DAMN THE FUCKING SCALE TO HELL!!! How can this be when I�ve been so careful, so tedious in my calculations? I�ve just gotten off my period, so I know its not that. I drank plenty of water. And with the exception of Saturday where I did indulge in some pretty rich food, I was totally perfect the rest of the week. I don�t know what to think. I was down to 262.6lbs on Friday....and now I�m 265.5!!

Oh, the scale...the scale, why oh why...

Don�t get me wrong, I�m not completely torn up or anything. I�m just slightly irritated. I guess I expected to at least be able to report a small loss for the week because I worked so hard. I KNOW I didn�t eat an extra 10,500 Saturday to gain 3 fucking pounds!!? So again, it makes no logical sense. And that just tweaks my nose a bit. I�ll get over it I�m sure. But I�ll tell you what, I�m longing for my old, familiar 263 about now. I hate seeing 265.5 on the scale - it totally freaks me out!!

Anyway... onto the up side of things. (Thank God you say!!)

The good news is that I did my American Heart 10K Walk (6.2 miles) on Saturday morning! I finished with flying colors and it made me so proud that I set a goal and actually reached it. Last year when I walked the Bridge Pedal, which was 5 miles, I really hurt and struggled between mile 4 & 5. It was a huge effort for me to finish. I was only about 20 pounds heavier at that time and maybe even a little more active. So I expected this walk to be a real challenge for me. But I finished just fine with no major pain or anything. Unfortunately, I walked it with an old pair of crappy shoes because I�ve been strapped for cash & unable to buy a new pair....so that sucked. My left foot has a blister on the bottom foot pad the size of my thumb. But I think that I could�ve actually walked farther, had I owned and worn a pair of decent shoes....I really do.

This blows me away...the fact that I think I could�ve walked farther that is. Never in a million years would I have imagined I could walk 6.2 miles in a row and on purpose!! :) Now I think I might be able to do 8 miles with a good pair of shoes and a little bit of training. Wow....way to go me!?!

(Hmmm...now if I could only ride my bike for more than half a mile without breaking a sweat it would be a real miracle!)

On the mental side of things, I have to say I�m really pleased that I completed the walk yet I�m slightly bummed about my weight on the scale today. I�d think it must be a fluke and that�s how I�m going to look at it. I wish I had the strength to stay off the scale for a month. Maybe that�s the next new �goal� I need to set and actually reach for myself!? Hmmm.. But enough about that. There really isn�t much more I can do but keep counting my calories, and exercising and keeping my chin up about things. Right?

My friend Linda in Toronto suggested that I post all the links I received from my readers. And I think it�s a great idea! So before you leave take a moment to check out a couple of things. First - a new recipe called Bok Choy w/Spicy Vinaigrette. This is a beautiful dish that I prepared last week on a grill-wok. Have you seen those? It�s a nonstick metal pan that looks like a wok, except it has holes all over it for the heat of the coals to get through. It�s a great little piece of inexpensive equipment that makes easy work of grilling shrimp, scallops, or chopped veggies without fear of falling through the grill grate! :) This recipe can also be stir fried in a real wok, or a large nonstick pan on the stove.

Secondly, here are the links which my reader�s shared with me. A lot of them were repeated, so it may seem like there aren�t many. But perhaps you�ll find some - as I did - that you�d never seen before. We all need a little inspiration! If you sent me a link that is not included here, it was because I couldn�t get it to open or I haven�t checked it out yet. (I only included those which I�ve had time to look over myself)

2:31 p.m. - 6/17/02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: