madermouse's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

1/21/02

Saturday night there was a knock on my front door. It was my neighbor, holding my scale. She wanted me to take the �evil thing back� please. She said she found herself weighing 10 times a day, drinking nothing but water, and walking at 10 o�clock at night to try and burn off calories. In her next breath she thanked me for the cream puffs with lemon curd and blueberry sauce I sent over a few days ago. �I ate them both - they were amazing!!� she raved.

I truly am an wicked neighbor, I send over a scale AND cream puffs....

So, the bottom line is that I know how much I weigh again. I have gained 1 � pounds since Dec. 31st. Could be water weight I guess...but I haven�t been perfect either. Who knows. I�m not stressing about it. But I did sit down last night and actually write out a few of my goals for this week. Writing in my food diary is #1 on my list, along with counting calories and getting in 6 days of exercise. Starting a lifting program will be on my agenda soon - as soon as I get my butt in gear and clean up the basement and move the weights down there.

I know I�ve said this before, but this basement isn�t like a normal basement. This is like the Freddy Krueger scary, slasher-movie basement. I mean, last time I went down there - dead animals were decaying down there. But it�s the only place with light and heat and enough room to accommodate the equipment. So I need to clean - which is going to entail moving old, rusty box springs, 30 cobwebbed screen doors, and other junk which renters have left behind. I�ll be sweeping about 10 years worth of dirt, leaves, and grime from the floor. THEN - I have to haul the weights from the wet, moldy garage down into the basement. Some of them I can�t actually lift without hurting myself, so I�ll have to solicit help from my a manly man. So - it is a huge job, and every time I think of the work involved, I shudder. I know, I should just do it in place of my regular exercise some day and look at it like a good workout. I�m such a wimp sometimes...

After watching the rain fall heavily on Friday, and off & on Saturday, I decided not to go on that hike. My mind imagined slippery rocks and loose dirt stewing into muddy slides and the fear of falling made my decision for me. After breaking my ankle twice in a year�s time, I guess there is a precipice for this somewhat irrational fear. Part of me feels like I should�ve at least tried, but the other part of me didn�t feel like being put in any awkward positions - or - sitting in the car for hours while my friends traipsed the mountainside having fun. More than anything, I wasn�t confident to go on that hike Sunday. So I didn�t.

But I did exercise Sunday. I tried a new step video I bought from Ross which was pretty decent. I spent 9 bucks and got two different videos. Personally, so far any step video that includes Kari Anderson kicks ass. This woman has her shit together! She�s not annoying - or at least not to me - but she�s still energetic and her routines are fun. Of course I�m not quite as coordinated as Kari, so when my husband was watching me learn the routine for the first time I was stumbling all over the bench and laughing. It was making me nervous with him standing there, watching me. And just when I was going to turn to him and tell him to get lost he said, �Wow - honey - you learn fast! You�re really good at that!�

Aaaaawww.... that�s why I love him. :) Sweetie pie.

I wish my step aerobics teachers from my Saturday morning class would make some videos. Both of them are really good and not the least bit annoying. At class this Saturday, I felt like a SUPER STAR! I was, by far, the best stepper there and I could feel everyone�s eyes on me when they were lost. I don�t know how I lucked out. The super-duper-high-energy-ponytail-chic was absent, along with all the other good people. It was me, the teacher, and a class full of beginners and for once in my life - I was the best at something athletic.

Woo Hoo! Yay me!!

1:49 p.m. - 1/21/02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: