madermouse's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

11/15/01

Firelight flickered on the menu as I opened it, and words like �cream� and �marscapone� leapt off the page. The waitress came bearing gifts, warm hand made rolls wrapped in soft cotton and nestled in a basket with pats of softening butter. The aroma reminded me of simpler times when bread was a staple and crafting it was a necessity, not a luxury.

I felt anxious. Suddenly the salad & soup selection seemed like a decision I made years ago instead of one made in my car before we entered this Mecca of Mediterranean cuisine. Pastas described in detail turned my mouth to water...Fettuccini in lemon cream sauce with Dungeness crab cakes, Gnocci sauteed in browned butter and sage served with a side of roasted squab, Spaghetti swirled in a rich tomato sauce, chicken sausage meatballs, and sprinkled with mizithra... I was reeling at the idea of consuming any one of these.

My stomach growled. I turned the page of the menu. Wood-fired pizza crust slathered with pesto, tomato, or garlic white sauce as a base was the simple pallette for a myriad of exquisite toppings. The list read a mile long; Prosciuto, rock shrimp, hand-rolled salami�s and sausages, ham, red onions, mushrooms, roasted eggplant, sun dried tomatoes, five kinds of olives, roasted red peppers...you name it. Each was topped with a blend of fine cheeses, and fired to bubbly perfection in a wood stove.

My gut wrangled inside of me...I was starving! (or at least I thought I was starving....I actually ate about 5 hours prior to this moment)

I flipped to the back of the menu to discover desserts galore and my heart sank. I knew better than to think I was ordering a dessert on top of everything. Dessert wasn�t happening, period, end of story. But my mind was a sponge which soaked up the words �tiramisu�, �Tuaca bread pudding�, and �peanut butter pie� before I even knew what was happening! I quickly turned to the first page of the menu, trying to shut out the sweet indulgences I�d just learned existed.

The waitress was approaching with that �you�d better be ready to order� smile on her face. I scanned the menu in a frantic rush to decide...so many delectable choices!! Pizza with ham and onions, Fettuccini Alfredo with prawns, or Angel hair in a pesto cream sauce....hmmm....maybe I�d be really really bad an order an old-time favorite, fried mozzarella triangles with ranch dip, or the deep fried artichoke hearts..

And then, no sooner than it began, I met with my fate. My wandering eyes briefly met with two words:

Soup & Salad

The waitress, magically standing beside me with pen in hand, looked at me like �hurry up lady!�. I momentarily skimmed the brief salad selections and met with only one option for soup. I heard the words come out of my mouth in slow-motion... �I�ll take a cup of the minestrone soup, and a large mixed vegetable salad with grilled chicken breast please.�

The waitress sighed with relief and took my husband�s order.....he was getting a medium pizza all for himself. She thanked us and left, with nothing but the scent of those warm rolls to ease the wait.

�I�m proud of you honey.� my hubby said, speaking of my restraint.

�I told you I was getting the soup & salad if we came here tonight....no biggie...� I shrugged.

But inside I was gleaming with pride. I did it! We had been given the dinner in the form of a gift certificate which was left in my hubby�s tip jar a few weeks ago. I was skeptical at the thought of going out and facing all these temptations - but I didn�t cave in and it felt great.

1:05 p.m. - 11/15/01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: