madermouse's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Liver Cleansing Diet

A short update - but I wanted everyone to know that I started the Liver Cleansing Diet.

Yes, me - the "resistant to all diet" girl. But truthfully, my liver pain had escalated to a daily dose of constant dull ache which elevated to intense pain after days and days of fast food on a trip to Wyoming. It wasn't alarming in an of itself, since I was diagnosed with NASH. But it was that kind of worry that creeps into your brain when your drifting off to sleep...the kind that makes you see yourself in hospital beds, skin and eyes yellow, in horrible pain.

* * SHUDDER * *

In addition, my weight simply leaped up over the course of 2 weeks, and I was seeing 360lbs, 361lbs in the evening. It freaked my shit out to say the least because 361 aint too helluva far away from 375 - my highest weight ever!! And I TOLD you ALL that I was NEVER going to go there again!!! AND I'M NOT!!!!

I was lying in bed, feeling totally like dogshit and wanting to just off myself when hubby mentions he glanced through a book called the "Insulin Resistance Diet" that he thought I should read. He said a lot of the symptoms sounded like me, and maybe I would feel better.

So I trodged off (is trodged a word - spellchecker says NO) to Barnes and Noble and got the said book but was caught by another book - The Liver Cleansing Diet.

It reminded me that my acupuncturist had suggested (like 5 or 6 times) that I try this diet. I think I dismissed it after she explained the basics: NO DAIRY (WHat the hell?? I'm a cheese girl! My nickname is MOUSE!! HELLO!!&%^@$!)

So, no dairy, no beef or pork, no sugar, no fats except the good kind (avocado, flax seeds, the occasional nut, salmon) and lots and lots of raw foods.

You KNOW this turned my stomach right over, and there is no way in hell that I'm going to do a virtually vegan, raw food diet.

But I picked up the book and started reading - and found myself completely caught up with emotion. Every single solitary symptom listed for those who have liver problems would explain how I felt. And having the blood tests and the pain to prove it - I didn't need to guess as whether or not I had a clogged liver. I do. Period.

So I started this cleanse...slowly, as well as taking the herbs. The hardest part so far has not been the no dairy - which is what I was most shocked by. I mean, I'm still craving cheese and gelato, but I'm not dying or anything. The meat has been absolutely NO PROBLEMO for me. And the raw food has been actually surprisingly refreshing. But I've got to tell you, this sugar thing is not happening. Every day - even when I try to substitute fruit for sugar it just doesn't cut the mustard.

I am trying. I am not succeeding on the sugar part, although my sugar consumption has gone down to one small thing a day. (From 2 or 3 sugary things a day)

Anyway - the best part is that I don't feel exhausted and in pain after eating. After a few days, I noticed that my liver hadn't given me any pain for at least 24 hours.

The crappy part (aside from the sugar jones) is that all these toxins are being released from my liver and I've had a headache or wierd body chills or some wierd thing every single day since I started. Hopefully that will pass.

Anyway - I'm back down to 354 - and moving towards the 340's. My first goal is to get under 350, and then all my goals after that are not related to weight loss, just health. :)

Ta ta for now peeps.

8:12 p.m. - August 08, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: