madermouse's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

PERSONAL TRAINER

I finally took the plunge and hired a personal trainer!! YEs - ME!! I actually was able to trade my chef services for personal training, and this lady is awesome. http://www.etheldiesels.com/

I don't know if she set out to specialize in "women of size", but she ended up doing a lot of work for seriously overweight women. Plus, she used to weigh like 315lbs - so she knows what its like.

Her gym is great - its a converted garage - in other words PRIVATE!! No big, long, garish mirrors around to point out how horrible I look when I'm trying to do a crunch on the exercise ball!! Its great.

Its only been two weeks, but my starting weight was 358.5. (I think my last weight was 354 in August - but I gained 5 pounds in the past 5 months, despite my best efforts)

So, like I was saying, its only been two weeks but I've already lost 3.5 pounds! The most amazing thing is that after taking account of my diet, her advice was:
#1: EAT MORE - She said I don't eat enough during the day at all. So then at night I eat a huge meal to compensate.

#2: DON'T "DIET" - She said that dieting obviously has not helped me in the long-term, and the goal she gave me is to reduce my calorie intake by 300 calories a day. I TOTALLY CAN DO THAT!!

#3: DON'T EXERCISE - She said that in the beginning, she doesn't want me doing any exercise beyond stretching and 10 minute dog-walking outside of our training sessions.

#4: DRINK WATER - Well, duh. This is a given. I'm totally dehydrated. It was so bad that during our first training session I had muscle cramps/spasms the entire time I was working out. It sucked. But I'm drinking water now (at least 80% of the time) like I'm supposed to.

#5: GO AHEAD - EAT IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT! I was like, what!??? I've been eating in the middle of the night since I was like 18 and every diet I've ever been on I've made myself stop. Her advice was to go ahead and do it - but make it a portion-controlled amount of something that seems like a dessert. (Which is what I want) So I went for a full-fat yogurt. I'm doing pretty good so far.

So, I don't know if anyone else thinks this is the craziest "diet" advice you've ever heard, but it totally made me excited about working with her. She's helped many women lose over 100 pounds, and she said part of her success with those women was doing things outside of what is considered "normal" for dieting.

So - woo hoo! Here I go!! I'll check in in January and let ya'll know how its going.

p.s. Black Radish is kicking butt and taking names. I'm so busy with my personal chef business, I can't even think straight. This time of year its 70+ hour weeks and crazy days, but boy is it fun!!

8:07 p.m. - December 14, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: