madermouse's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

8/16/01

I don�t know if I�ll have time to update tomorrow. My plate looks incredibly full here at the office, and I also have a doctor�s appointment which will eat up the middle of my day. So...I posted my weight for today instead of tomorrow morning. Read it and weep.

Strange thing, the scale. It was crawling last month, and I was starting to wonder if I�d ever get out of the 290's. Last Saturday, I ate about 2,100 calories. Sunday I ate about 1,900 calories. Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday I ate between 1700-1800 calories. This succeeds my normal caloric intake by 400-500 calories PER DAY. So imagine my surprise when the scale is dropping so rapidly!? I haven�t changed my exercise a bit either - with the exception of my 5-mile jaunt last Sunday. So... I�m not sure what happened here. I�ve heard that if your calories are too low, your body will go into starvation mode and basically store whatever it can. Perhaps this is what happened to me?

My dietician explained that I should be eating between 1800-1900 calories a day to lose 2 pounds a week. So I figured, if I ate 1500-1600 calories a day, I�d lose 3 pounds a week. Seem logical? Anyway, when I saw her in April, I basically ignored her advice....figuring that I knew what was best for me. (EGO) I didn�t consciously make a decision to eat more this past week either....I was simply hungry! And instead of ignoring that feeling, I just went with it. Funny, too, when I read Fred�s journal a few days back he explained how he was eating about 3,000 calories a day and still losing weight. I thought to myself, �only a man�s metabolism could do that. It�s so unfair!� So, I�ve been known to be wrong before...

Speaking of Fred, is anyone with me when I say that he is the most smug bastard you ever did meet? What�s up with this guy? I mean, I�ve always put him on a pedestal because of his strong beliefs and steel will. But this EGO of his keeps getting in the way of my cult-worship dammit!! Sometimes I want to say - �You know Fred, a little modesty really does go a long way.� (Yes, and he told me once that I was the most modest person he�d ever met...W*O*W*) But what really worries me, is that I wonder if this is a side-effect of weight loss? Has all the attention of being glorified gone to his head? Or was he always that smug?

I guess I�ll never know....will I Fred?

Until we meet again, everyone have a good night. I�m off to practice my flute and bless my neighbors with its sweet, lulling tone.... (ya, right)

12:43 p.m. - 8/16/01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: