madermouse's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

9/17/01

Pete is doing well, alive and alert, and seems to have come through the procedure like a champ. He was, however a bit pissed that we took him to that torture chamber. I got him home, fed him, and tried to comfort him...but he wasn�t having any of it. I tried to hold him he just wiggled away, his big eyes just glaring at me like - �You took me there! Get your hands off me traitor!�.

Oh well, as a quote from Penny Ward Moser, an American writer, perfectly explains,

�When my cats aren�t happy, I�m not happy. Not because I care about their mood,

but because I know they�re just sitting there thinking of ways to get even.�

I went to my step aerobics class this Saturday, and I must say it was probably one of the hardest physical fitness things I�ve ever done. The gym was sweltering when I walked in, and humid from the pool which was adjoining it. There were lots of skinny-mini�s there, a few older mom types, and one man in his mid-thirties. I�m sure I outweighed everyone by at least 80-100lbs or so, but that was exactly what I had expected.

The instructor was a perky 20-something female, who obviously thought we were all there to learn various dance moves and do lots of jumping. In my opinion, they should�ve called the class �Dance step� instead of �step Jam�...but that�s just my personal opinion. She had me sweating in the warm-up, which has NEVER happened to me with my home step tapes. The beat of the music she used was nearly twice as fast as my home step tapes too, and I wasn�t sure I was going to be able to keep up. But did keep up. And I also found out that I�m NOT the most uncoordinated person on the face of the planet, as previously thought. In fact, I did better than 50% of the class in the coordination department, and I felt pretty good about it.

About 30 minutes into the class, I started feeling like I was reaching that anaerobic stage...which I�ve heard is not good for your body. So I did some level 1 modifications for a few minutes and drank some water until I felt better. The teacher made eye contact with me a few times during the class, and immediately said this: �Please work at your own pace! Do NOT push yourself beyond a comfortable place. You should feel GOOD right now!� I know she was thinking she had a red-faced, 300 pound woman who was about ready to have a heart attack on her hands! It didn�t help that it was soooo hot in that gym to begin with. And my face has always gotten really red when I exercise. Poor lady, I probably gave her a good scare. :)

Leaving the building, I saw steam rising from my own forehead like an apple pie cooling on a windowsill! But I felt great. Those endorphin�s kicked in, and I was high as a kite for about an hour after my workout. I called my mom to chatter her head off, and then chattered my hubby�s head off for half an hour. I plan on going back next Saturday, and every Saturday through Jan. 1st! :) Yeah!

Yesterday was the Race for the Cure 5K walk. It was a piece of cake compared to the 5 mile Bridge Pedal. Over 50,000 people turned out for it, and it literally took almost 60 minutes for all of us to cross the starting line! No joke! It wasn�t as challenging, or as fun, as the Bridge Pedal. But I�m glad I went. I met two goals that I set for myself, and sometimes that�s worth more than the actual experience itself.

Well, I�m gone for today. But I want to leave you with one last little thing. Check this out.

*******SMILE********

12:55 p.m. - 9/17/01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: