madermouse's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

9/14/01

On a brief note, its been brought to my attention that I�ve hurt the feelings of many of my readers by defaming our President, George Bush, and that I should apologize. For those of you who feel I�ve hurt your feelings click here. For the rest of you, especially those of you who wrote me to support my point of view, thank you. I appreciate knowing I�m not alone.

Right now, my little cat Pete is sitting on a surgery table at the vet�s office. The veterinarian just called to say he�s suffering from partial kidney failure, and they don�t know if he�ll pull through the procedure. It�s a simple procedure, really, a few tooth extractions, and a cleaning. But the anesthesia they use to put him under is really hard on his kidneys. And he already has feline Leukemia and feline herpes virus which is compromising it itself. So, I won�t know until later if he pulls through. And if he does pull through, there is a big chance that he may not every fully recover from this because he is so jeopardized by his Leukemia.

I thought I was prepared for this, emotionally. Because last year when he was diagnosed with Leukemia, he was really very sick at the time. I just totally fell apart and was crying for days. I felt like I had already lost him. Some part of me said my �goodbyes� even.

But after his diagnosis, we started keeping him inside. He�s always been an outside cat, but did you know that a cat tested positive for feline Leukemia can infect other cats in the neighborhood - even if they�ve had their shots? Most people don�t realize this. If Pete got in another fight with a cat, or ate out of the same bowl, or came in contact with any bodily fluid he would infect them. We started giving him vitamins, L-lysine, and interferon treatments daily, and he really improved. Over the past 6 months he�s put on weight, and his eyes have cleared. He looks very fat and sassy and healthy - you�d never know he was sick. And I guess somehow I thought he was going to live a long life, that maybe he�d gone into remission or something. I guess the mind designs a plan that we can live with to make us feel better, to get us through each day. And my mind told me that Pete was better, and going to live a happy long life. And today I had to hear the truth of it all....and it hurts.

Our animals are our friends, our companions, our family even. They are so dedicated to making us happy...well, maybe not a cat! Cats are usually pretty independant, but they do love us in between naps, dining, and licking themselves. Oh, and of course, when they want to be rubbed. Cats are rub SLUTS!! (I�m kind of a rub slut too, but that�s another story)

But I must say there is nothing better than curling up with my downy soft cat in bed on a Sunday morning. Especially on a sunny day, when the rays come in through the window and bathe us both in warm light. I usually pet him until he�s curled himself into the cutest little �U� shape, and he�s purring lightly....and then we both kind of doze off. I�ve spent many an hour this way with my Pete, and can�t imagine waking up without him tomorrow.

I pray to the Universe that whatever happens to my Pete, he may be free of suffering and pain, and know that I love him.

12:54 p.m. - 9/14/01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: