madermouse's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

9/11/02

Today is my second day doing WW....although yesterday doesn't really count because I didn't get my WW materials in the mail until the middle of the day. Which would've been fine, but this was after I'd had my breakfast (30 tortilla chips and about � cup of bean dip) and my snack (a whole-fat, cream-at-the-top, 220 calorie yogurt). Did I say to myself, "That's okay Heather, you can start tomorrow." NO WAY MAN!! Like a dutiful girl, I started counting points IMMEDIATELY after receiving my slidey calculator thingy. This was a promise I made to myself last Thursday when I wimped out on the ww meeting. I promised that no matter what time of day or when - I'd start WW the second I got the materials. I'm happy that I kept that promise to myself. Baby steps you know. Unfortunately, this meant that I went over my maximum points by 2 yesterday. (The yogurt, chips & dip cost me 14 points!) But, its still not bad though for my first, partially *unprepared* day.

Its been a strange situation, starting this new system....this new 'gimmick'. I've caught myself searching my cupboards for zero point veggies, high fiber & low fat foods to eat! I guess this is a good thing, because I haven't been getting enough fiber or veggies in my diet. But does this mean that I'm trying to cheat the system? Today I've had 3 zero point servings of veggies. I'm sure it adds up to at least 100 or 150 calories. Doesn't that *count* somehow?

I have all of these stupid, nit-picky little questions about how to count certain things...and I have no one to ask. Hmmm...`perhaps this is one reason that a person should join the actual meetings? I tried surfing the net and joining a chat room yesterday to get some of my questions answered. But the people in there didn't seem to want to talk shop. Which I totally do not understand. Why the hell would you NOT want to discuss weight watchers in a WEIGHT WATCHERS CHAT room?? Does this make sense? So here I am...all these questions and no one to ask and I'm feeling kind of lonely about it all. So I finally pop off an e-mail to Courtney and ask her some of the most pressing ones. I choose her because she um, how do you say it, oh - ya - She FUCKING kicks ass!!! This girl is losing weight and taking names....down over 130 pounds now. She's been going strong with no signs of slowing down, and she's doing it all on WW. She's my current idol right now, with good ol' Robyn following close behind. (Can't wait for your weigh-in this month Robyn!)

Anyway, all I know is that I'm hungry. Not the head-hunger kind of hunger either. I'm just plain, old-fashioned, belly-rumbling hungry. I hope this goes away soon - because I'm eating like 33 points a day already and I'm not going to be getting any more food any time soon. I think part of my hunger is because I usually don't look at the fat content of my food at all, just the calories. But with the WW points system, the less fat and the more fiber you eat, the less points the food item is. So.... for the past couple of days I've been choosing really fibrous, low-fat food instead of low-calorie, medium fat foods. (Is this picture getting any clearer yet?) And as we all know, fat makes you feel full. But fatty foods have sooo many points!! *whine* *whine*

I'm sure I'll figure it all out soon. I did come up with a very low-point soup recipe this morning though. My friend Anne gives it 4 forks!! (aka...really damn tasty) I'm eating 1 � cups of this with a piece of cornbread - all for 4 points. I'm guesstimating the points of the recipe, of course. I'm counting the soup as one point although it uses only zero point veggies and has no fat in it. Here's the recipe. If you'd be so kind as to look over the ingredients and tell me if you think 1 1/2 cups would be about 1 point. Oh, and wish me luck for a perfect OP weekend!! :)

(For all you non-weight watching dieters, I hope you bear with me through my little WW obsession...you know - points, OP, blah blah blah....I promised myself a solid month to try this out & I'm trying to be excited!! thanx! - mouse)

Caramelized-Onion, Red Pepper & Tomato Soup

For the caramelized onions:

3 large yellow onions, sliced into rings

pan spray

pinch of salt

extra stock

Spray a nonstick stock pot with Pam. Add onions and salt. Cook over low heat, stirring every 3-5 minutes. Adjust the heat and/or add stock by the tbsp if onions seem like they're browning too fast. Onions shouldn't get black anywhere...but be a deep golden brown color. Keep stirring and cooking (about 45min) until onions turn completely browned, sticky, and are reduced to 1/4 of their original size.

For the soup:

1 large white onion, chopped

2 stalks celery, chopped

1 red bell pepper, chopped

1 large (30oz) can of tomatoes

2/3rd bag of frozen cauliflower flowerettes

1 can of fat-free chicken or veggie stock

3 bay leaves

1 � tsp salt

1 tsp garlic powder

lots of cracked black pepper

pinch of crushed red pepper

2 tbsp balsamic vinegar

1 tsp Italian seasoning

3 crushed garlic cloves

Garnish:

1 large fresh yellow tomato, chopped

parsley, chopped

Remove caramelized onions from stockpot and set aside, wash the pot. Spray with pan spray, and over medium heat, add the onions, celery and bell pepper. Cook until veggies are soft and white onion is translucent. Add tomatoes through Italian seasoning. Cook on medium-low for 20 minutes, uncovered. Find the bay leaves and discard them. Remove from heat, stir in caramelized onions and the raw garlic. With a hand blender, (or food processor/blender in batches) puree the soup to desired consistency. Ladle into bowls and top with fresh tomato and parsley

2:41 p.m. - 9/11/02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: