madermouse's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

4/30/02

I did step aerobics for the first time in two weeks today, and it was the first really �intense� exercise I�ve done since I�ve been sick. I�m happy to report that I�m not a total weakling, and I didn�t lose my �Mighty Mouse� strength! After 40 minutes I was sweating, but barely breathing heavy. Now, whether this was due to the fact I had a ton of phlegm blocking my airway passages, or because I�m just such a super cool fitness goddess....well, you decide. Either way, I was happy that I hadn�t �lost it� so to speak.

I did the March of Dimes walk on Saturday. Because I�d been sick, we planned on only walking the 3K (1.8miles)...and I was pretty confident that I could accomplish that. My friends and I got swept up with the other walkers when the start gun went off. We crossed the bridge, and walked down by the water and weaved in and out of the crowd. 30 minutes passed, then fourty, then an hour....I was breaking out in a cold sweat, thirsty, and starting to really get fatigued. The whole time I�m thinking, �Okay, I KNOW this has been at least 2 miles by now...� When the group took a turn towards down town, further away from the start line, I started whining. My friend pulls out a map and notices that we�ve been following the wrong group! Turns out we had started at 9:00am....with the 10K�ers instead of 9:15am with the 3K�ers!! Ooops...no wonder I was getting tired!

My weigh in for this week resulted in a 1 pound loss...259lbs. That whole 257 thing was too good to be true, and I knew it. I was probably dehydrated from being sick, and put on the two pounds when I started getting better. Ya, sure, I would�ve loved to �officially� weighed in at 257lbs, but as it stands I lost 4 pounds in April. Not only that, but if you�ll look at my weight loss chart, you�ll see that this week was the lowest weight I�ve ever been at so far. I have 4 pounds to go, and it�ll be 120 pounds gone... that just blows my mind.

Do I believe that I�m truly over my plateau? Hmmm... I guess I�d have to say no. I mean, the numbers on the scale seem to say that I am, but I feel like at any minute I�m going to be back at 263. Its irrational, I know. Its my fear talking. And as Sarah pointed out, FEAR stands for this:

False

Evidence

Appearing

Real

I�m still thinking about this one.

Well, thanks to my faithful reader Lianne, I had a plethora of exercise videos to choose from this morning. From her personal video library, she sent me 4 of the tapes from my Amazon Wish list, and 4 or 5 other tapes to try. This morning I tried the newest Jane Fonda Step and Stretch video. If you�re a beginner, looking for some very simple step choreography - this is a video you should try. They have 3 impact options displayed during the video which includes �high impact�, lower impact, and one lady modifies the moves for the floor. Most of the music isn�t annoying, and they switch instructors throughout the entire set so you never get bored of just one person�s style. Because I�ve been sick, I only used the single bench module this morning. This made the 40 minute aerobic section very easy to accomplish without much effort. If you are looking for a stronger workout, definitely add another bench module and use any of the suggested �advanced� moves like the left side of the room demonstrates. Being more of an intermediate stepper, I have to say the choreography was quite repetitive and too simple to keep me really challenged. Even so, I�d probably use this tape again when I was looking to give my mind a rest and just get some aerobic activity in my day.

Stay tuned for more reviews of the videos as I try them out.... and as always, thanks for reading.

2:07 p.m. - 4/30/02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: