madermouse's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The seven year glitch

April 20th, 2004

Wow...thanks for all the feedback and comments! I appreciate that. The general consensus is: TAKE THE DAMN PILLS!! I know, I know... But you might remember that I�ve had trouble in the past with anti-depressants. The biggest problem being that I feel like I�m on LSD whenever I take them � and not in a fun way. I�ve blacked out on several of them too. And the last time I tried Paxil I got these wierd shocky energy shock things all through my body and then the room would go dark, and then I felt nauseous and then I felt like I was going to fall. This went on for two days before I couldn�t take it anymore. I couldn�t function.

I think Prozac will be my fourth try? (or fifth?) So, you could understand why I�m nervous about taking them. I�ve never been able to last more than three days on any anti-depressant. (Vicki � I haven�t asked about Lexapro yet.) I just switched to a new doctor and we discussed my options. She suggested prozac only because I took it when I was 19, and I tolerated it for a month or so. She said if that didn�t work, or the side-effects were too awful, then she�d like to try Wellbutrin because it kills people�s cravings and helps with depression. Plus, I also have to work within the constraints of my insurance coverage....so that is another challenge.

I�ve also been reading that weight gain can be a side-effect of taking anti-depressants. Do you guys find that to be true? Or do you find that it helps you stay in control of your eating because you aren�t as depressed? I�m confused about this whole thing. I�m sure different meds are different for everyone, and no one can really say how it will affect me.

On another note, I decided not to weigh in today, or take my measurements. I just can�t deal with the stress of it. I will get back on the wagon, take my Laminaria (which semi-helps w/depression for me), continue my exercising and weigh in next week. I got an e-mail from a reader who said she�s lost 92 pounds....and it�s taken her 7 years. That really spoke volumes to me. The point is, that I can never give up. And a bad day or a bad week is just that: a bad day or week. It isn�t the end of the line. I don�t have to fall off the deep end or throw in the towel or resign myself to be fat. In the scheme of things, it�s just a blip on the radar and I need to keep going.

And in the meantime, I need to remember where I want to be in 7 years.

11:18 a.m. - April 20, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: