madermouse's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

8/10/01

I made it to the scale today, �officially�. If you want to know how much I lost, click here. (Aunt Sherry I lost 3 pounds for a total of 83 pounds) I think weighing in on Friday will help me enjoy my weekend a little more. At least I know that if I enjoy a cocktail or a nice dinner out, I�ll still have 4-5 days to work it off.

In other news, I�m feeling even better today! Yes, I know you were all soooo worried about me... . But my spirits are much improved in general, with the exception of my back pain. Remember when I told you about that vaso-vagal episode? Well, I felt like I was going to have another one of those last night. But I took a Flexural, an Ibuprofen, drank a ton of water, and went to bed. I woke up feeling little twinges, but nothing major. I think the pain in my back is from simple exertion, and weight lifting. Excuse me, but my back & shoulders haven�t done much more than lift my fork to my mouth for the past 10 years!! So anything more than that is considered �exertion� !! Hopefully when my puny little muscles get stronger, my back pain will go away too. At least, that�s the plan.

My mother bought me some hair care products for thinning hair by John Coppola. They don�t promise to grow hair or anything, but they do enhance the hair you have with soy protiens & stuff. I actually had �big� hair yesterday that looked full and thick! I couldn�t believe it! I must�ve stood in front of the mirror for 5 minutes marveling at my head. Of course this is just an illusion that could be shattered in an instant by a sudden rainfall, but I don�t care. I�m willing to risk it.

I have nothing terribly witty or charming to say today, as my life is incredibly uneventful. But in the day to day, I try to remember how far I�ve come, and how much change I�ve made. Last night while driving in the car, my hubby put one finger between my stomach and the steering wheel. For those of you who haven�t read in the past, its been an ongoing joke. It started when I was first losing weight and there was a sliver of space between my tummy and the steering wheel. (Prior to this, my stomach had literally hung over the bottom rung of the steering wheel - which made fast turning a scary challenge!) Anyway, my hubby pointed to the tiny bit of space and said, �Space - the final frontier�. (For those of you not in America, it�s a play a on words used to describe a popular show Star Trek)

Anyway, last night he could put a hole finger through that space, and he was so excited. �Look honey�, he said, �I can fit one finger between you and steering wheel now!� Imagine his shock when I reached down, depressed the lever, and moved my seat back 4 more inches! He gasped and put his entire fist between the steering wheel and me. Then, to demonstrate further, I pulled the seatbelt out as far as it would go. When I bought the car two years ago, it was one of the only ones with a seatbelt that would fit. By last August, I couldn�t even buckle it without sucking in my stomach and holding my breath while I drove. Now I could probably fit a small baby in my arms and buckle it. ! We both just looked at each other and smiled. It was a good thing.

Have a good weekend and be good to yourself. After all - YOU DESERVE IT!!

12:39 p.m. - 8/10/01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: